Points in tough second race

Postad av Mediaempire 2011-05-21 17:04

Martin Öhlin scored two points by finishing ninth in the second race of the day at Mantorp Park. He started in 14th place and quickly moved himself into the points. Once there he had a race-long fight with Patrik Olssons turbocharged Volkswagen and was unable to pass on the long straights.
“Extremely frustrating to be behind their turbocharged cars. As soon as we are close to the tiniest of straights he just got a gap, then I caught him in the corners and it all started over again. It felt very frustrating,” Martin said.

He scored two points after the dissapointment in the first race where he got pushed off track at the start.
“Not the weekend we expected but this is how it went after what happened in the first race. At least we got a few points, much less than we expected and thought we would get but that’s how it goes. I’ll come back for Gothenburg,” Martin concludes.

Team manager Dick Jönsson Wigroth felt WestCoast Racing had a tough weekend at Mantorp despite showing they continue to have the pace and be the pace setters among the BMW’s.
“Once again we qualified as the best BMW and we expected a lot of points from the races. We are of course not satisfied with two points. But Martin showed that Knutstorp wasn’t a one time thing, he is strong and there’s no doubt we have the speed. That will pay off sooner or later this season,” Dick says.

Next race in STCC is Gothenburg City Race in three weeks time.

Result, race 2 Mantorp Park:
1: Jan Nilsson, BMW 14 laps
2: Tommy Rustad, Volvo + 1,137
3: Tomas Engström, Honda + 9,188
4: Rickard Rydell, Chevrolet + 9,598
5: James Thompson, Volvo + 10,218
6: Fredrik Ekblom, Volkswagen 10,948
7: Roger Eriksson, SEAT + 12,182
8: Patrik Olsson, Volkswagen + 13,149
9: Martin Öhlin, BMW + 13,545
10: Colin Turkington, BMW + 13,802
11: Johan Sturesson, BMW + 13,968
12: Mattias Andersson, Alfa Romeo + 20,174
13: Tobias Johansson, SEAT + 23,508
14: Tomas Faraas, SEAT + 23,696
15: Joakim Ahlberg, BMW + 24,289
16: Viktor Hallrup, Chevrolet + 1 lap
17: Robin Appelqvist, Alfa Romeo + 1 lap

Alx Danielsson, Andreas Ebbesson